Who we are


Orientalys is a free Festival fully devoted to the meeting of Eastern and Western cultures, celebrating a diverse, avant‐garde and open-minded Montreal.

Every year in summer, the Old-Port moves to the beat of bold fusions and original shows crossing three continents from North Africa to China, by way of Spain, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Iran, Cambodia, India and Japan as well as many other Eastern countries! Performances, workshops, animations, exhibitions and activities for children and adults are on the program each year – all around a veritable Oriental Medina!

In this place of sharing and exchanging, festival-goers can wander around a unique spot, enjoying the benefits of argan oil and soft soap, discovering the atmosphere of gentle evenings under a nomad tent, or negotiating for a distinctive handicraft item. And booths offering fine dishes from around the world will flatter the taste buds of food-lovers.

Orientalys Festival is conceived and produced by Alchimies, Créations et Cultures.

——————————————————————————————————————————————————

Established in 1993, Alchimies, Creations et Cultures is a Montreal-based non-profit organization, producer of intercultural and interdisciplinary encounters and creations. It offers a creative platform for artists from here and abroad. Its artistic vision is built around projects that challenge, question and combine different – yet antagonist – views and cultural expressions.

The Arab World Festival of Montreal (Festival du Monde Arabe de Montréal or FMA) is one of the main activities of the organization. It is inspired by the richness and diversity of Arab arts and culture and reflects a great openness to other cultures. Through its three sections – Performing Arts, Culture Forum and Cinema the FMA asserts its multidisciplinary and intercultural vocation.

Learn more at: www.festivalarabe.com

Qui sommes-nous ?


Festival gratuit entièrement dédié à la rencontre des cultures orientales et occidentales, Orientalys célèbre une Montréal plurielle, avant-gardiste et ouverte à l’Autre.

Durant l’été de chaque année, le Vieux-Port vibre au rythme de fusions audacieuses et de spectacles inédits parcourant trois continents, du Maghreb à la Chine, en passant par l’Espagne, la Turquie, la Syrie, le Liban, l’Iran, le Cambodge, l’Inde, le Japon et bien d’autres pays d’Orient ! Spectacles, ateliers, animations, expositions et activités pour enfants et adultes sont au programme de chaque année… le tout autour d’une véritable Médina orientale !

Dans ce lieu de partage et d’échange, les festivaliers pourront déambuler au sein d’un espace singulier, retrouvant l’atmosphère des veillées sous une tente nomade, négociant un objet d’artisanat rare ou profitant des bienfaits de l’huile d’argan et du savon noir. Des kiosques de gastronomie et de pâtisseries aux saveurs exquises sauront satisfaire également les papilles des gourmands !

Le Festival Orientalys est conçu et produit par Alchimies, Créations et Cultures.

—————————————————————————————————————————–

Créé en 1993, Alchimies, Créations et Cultures est un organisme montréalais à but non lucratif, diffuseur et producteur  de créations et de rencontres interdisciplinaires et interculturels. Il se veut un ferment de créativité pour des artistes d’ici et d’ailleurs. Sa vision artistique est construite autour de projets qui questionnent, croisent et conjuguent des expressions et des discours culturels différents, voire antagonistes.

Le Festival du Monde Arabe de Montréal (FMA) constitue l’une des principales activités de l’organisme : il s’inspire de la richesse et la diversité des cultures arabes et témoigne d’une grande ouverture aux autres cultures. Avec ses volets Arts de la scène, Salon de la Culture et Cinéma, le FMA affirme sa vocation pluridisciplinaire et interculturelle.

Pour plus d’informations sur le FMA visitez : www.festivalarabe.com